Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )


 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
Oracle 

Performance Tuning Reference poster
 
Oracle training in Linux 

commands
 
Oracle training Weblogic Book
 
Easy Oracle Jumpstart
 
Oracle training & performance tuning books
 
Burleson Consulting Remote DB Administration
 
 
 
Closed TopicStart new topic
> INSTANCE LOCK, deleting tablespace
tbtbs
post Mar 1 2012, 01:04 PM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 4,247



Greetings all

In the past, we setup a standby database on our production server. My OS is HPUX, Oracle 10g and my database is in archive mod. We are no longer using the standby database method. My problem now is that one of my tablespace (/oradata/tn/rd2_temp 20gb) became 100% full on my production system. In trying to provide more space, I removed one of the standby redo logs. Instead of using ALTER database, I just did a rm from the OS. As I said earlier my STANDBY DB is inoperatable.

When I tried to drop the tablespace(/oradata/tn/rd2_temp it is 20gb), I am getting an oracle error (ora-19528 redo logs being cleared may need access to files). Im also getting and INSTANCE LOCK on ARC4. The rd2_temp tablespace is now offline. If I get rid of rd2_temp, I will be able to gain more space back to /oradata/tn.

My database is still up and working okay.

What can I do to fix the problem.

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you
tbtbs
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
HelloRavi
post Mar 2 2012, 06:53 AM
Post #2


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 111
Joined: 25-March 08
Member No.: 19,800



To resolve this , you need to re-create the control file. You may go thru the below link,

http://aprakash.wordpress.com/2010/03/06/ora-19528/

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
burleson
post Mar 3 2012, 05:43 AM
Post #3


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 11,326
Joined: 26-January 04
Member No.: 13



>> In trying to provide more space, I removed one of the standby redo logs.

Oops!

You need to recover the instance.

>> Instead of using ALTER database,

Did you try the alter command?

When you do something that is clearly "wrong", you need to contact Oracle technical support:

http://support.oracle.com


--------------------
Hope this helps. . .

Donald K. Burleson
Oracle Press author
Author of Oracle Tuning: The Definitive Reference
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tbtbs
post Mar 6 2012, 10:56 AM
Post #4


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 21-May 06
Member No.: 4,247



thanks for the replies. Will work both to see which is best for us

tbtbs

QUOTE (tbtbs @ Mar 1 2012, 06:04 PM) *
Greetings all

In the past, we setup a standby database on our production server. My OS is HPUX, Oracle 10g and my database is in archive mod. We are no longer using the standby database method. My problem now is that one of my tablespace (/oradata/tn/rd2_temp 20gb) became 100% full on my production system. In trying to provide more space, I removed one of the standby redo logs. Instead of using ALTER database, I just did a rm from the OS. As I said earlier my STANDBY DB is inoperatable.

When I tried to drop the tablespace(/oradata/tn/rd2_temp it is 20gb), I am getting an oracle error (ora-19528 redo logs being cleared may need access to files). Im also getting and INSTANCE LOCK on ARC4. The rd2_temp tablespace is now offline. If I get rid of rd2_temp, I will be able to gain more space back to /oradata/tn.

My database is still up and working okay.

What can I do to fix the problem.

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you
tbtbs

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Closed TopicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th July 2014 - 03:15 AM