Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )


 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
Oracle 

Performance Tuning Reference poster
 
Oracle training in Linux 

commands
 
Oracle training Weblogic Book
 
Easy Oracle Jumpstart
 
Oracle training & performance tuning books
 
Burleson Consulting Remote DB Administration
 
 
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> logical standby and streams, is it possible to configure streams on a logical standby?
pkoehle
post Feb 3 2012, 02:14 PM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 3-February 12
Member No.: 46,711



Source DB is logical standby 10.2.0.5
Destination DB is 11.2.0.3

Is it possible to set up streams on the logical DB to replicate some schemas to the 11gR2 DB?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
burleson
post Feb 3 2012, 02:32 PM
Post #2


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 11,317
Joined: 26-January 04
Member No.: 13



>> Is it possible to set up streams on the logical DB to replicate some schemas to the 11gR2 DB?

You are asking if you can replicate to a newer release?

Yes, I think so . . . .


--------------------
Hope this helps. . .

Donald K. Burleson
Oracle Press author
Author of Oracle Tuning: The Definitive Reference
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pkoehle
post Feb 3 2012, 02:43 PM
Post #3


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 3-February 12
Member No.: 46,711



QUOTE (burleson @ Feb 3 2012, 03:32 PM) *
>> Is it possible to set up streams on the logical DB to replicate some schemas to the 11gR2 DB?

You are asking if you can replicate to a newer release?

Yes, I think so . . . .


There's a 10.2.0.5 primary DB (where supplemental logging is enabled) replicating to a 10.2.0.5 logical standby.
Now we want to replicate some schemas from the logical standby DB to a remote 11.2.0.3 DB.

So I want to know if there are any restrictions for enable supplemental loggin (as needed by streams) on the logical standby.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
burleson
post Feb 3 2012, 03:27 PM
Post #4


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 11,317
Joined: 26-January 04
Member No.: 13



Hi,

>> Now we want to replicate some schemas from the logical standby DB to a remote 11.2.0.3 DB.


I think you will be fine . . .

To Streams, the new "master" is just a database, and I see not reason why a database cannot accept logical standby while it also exists as a master, sending replication to another logical standby.


*****************************************
I'm not a Streams guru, but this fellow is:

http://www.rampant-books.com/book_0402_streams.htm

It's an outstanding book . . .

***************************************************
>> restrictions for enable supplemental loggin (as needed by streams) on the logical standby.

http://www.dba-oracle.com/b_data_guard_logical_standby.htm

QUOTE
Since a logical standby database may not contain all the objects from the primary database, the switchover to the logical standby database may restrict the services offered by the true primary database. As a result, the DBA should carefully consider the objects to be replicated in a logical standby database during the configuration phase.


Here are all Streams restrictions:

http://docs.oracle.com/cd/B28359_01/server...estrictions.htm

All it notes is that LOB, LONG, LONG RAW, user-defined type, and Oracle-supplied type columns cannot be part of a supplemental log group.


--------------------
Hope this helps. . .

Donald K. Burleson
Oracle Press author
Author of Oracle Tuning: The Definitive Reference
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pkoehle
post Feb 3 2012, 04:00 PM
Post #5


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 3-February 12
Member No.: 46,711



Thank you very much, Mr. Burleson, especially for the unbelievable quick answers!

We will try it out this weekend - maybe the high management will have to wait for some reports on Monday wink.gif - and I'll inform you (and the community) about the results.

BR, peter

best oracle site in this world: http://www.dba-oracle.com/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
burleson
post Feb 4 2012, 04:10 AM
Post #6


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 11,317
Joined: 26-January 04
Member No.: 13



Hi Peter,

>> best oracle site in this world: http://www.dba-oracle.com/

Thanks for the kind words! I work very hard on my site, and I'm happy that you find it useful.

**************************************************
>> I'll inform you (and the community) about the results

That would be wonderful!

I sent this note asking some of my experts:

http://www.dba-oracle.com/t_streams_logica...or_receiver.htm

QUOTE
Can a database act as a logical standby, and at the same time, send replication to another logical standby?

IOW, can any single database be both a sender and receiver of logical standby replication streams?


--------------------
Hope this helps. . .

Donald K. Burleson
Oracle Press author
Author of Oracle Tuning: The Definitive Reference
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pkoehle
post Feb 6 2012, 02:40 PM
Post #7


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 3-February 12
Member No.: 46,711



results from our tests last weekend:

First: it works! smile.gif

Second: setting up streams has to be done very carefully: even a small little mistake can lead to big problems and a lot of time used for investigations - as the error messages are realy of very poor quality (eg different character sets lead to not working propagation without according messages ...).

To everyone who has to do similar work: much fun and stay tuned wink.gif

BR, peter
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
renzjr
post Feb 6 2012, 09:35 PM
Post #8


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 6-February 12
Member No.: 46,721



QUOTE (pkoehle @ Feb 6 2012, 02:40 PM) *
results from our tests last weekend:

First: it works! smile.gif

Second: setting up streams has to be done very carefully: even a small little mistake can lead to big problems and a lot of time used for investigations - as the error messages are realy of very poor quality (eg different character sets lead to not working propagation without according messages ...).

To everyone who has to do similar work: much fun and stay tuned wink.gif

BR, peter


I'm looking for this solutions, too. Thanks it works!


--------------------
Oracle Database Administration Forums
http://www.oracle-forums.com
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SteveC
post Feb 7 2012, 06:05 PM
Post #9


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 2,835
Joined: 11-March 08
Member No.: 18,933



For what it's worth, the architecture of downstream capture and logical standby are almost identical.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pkoehle
post Feb 16 2012, 03:13 PM
Post #10


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 3-February 12
Member No.: 46,711



I have to apologize but it doesn't work sad.gif

capture ist fine
apply seems to be fine
instantiation works

but propagation doesn't - now orcle support says it might be a bug in 10.2.0.5 (they are still investigating)

we did an upgrade of our logical standby to 11.1 => everything works fine now; easy to setup as described

so our configuration now is:

production on 10.2.0.5 HPUX => logical standby 11.1 HPUX => streams (due to endian differences between HPUX and RHEL) => new production 11.2.0.3 RHEL
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
burleson
post Feb 17 2012, 10:00 AM
Post #11


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 11,317
Joined: 26-January 04
Member No.: 13



Hi

You can manually move the redo logs with a shell script.

Just write a deamon process and wit for a new redo to appear,

when it's done, have the script trapsport it into the standby redo log drectory.

If you don't want to write your own, there might be one of these in the Oracle script collection:

http://www.dba-oracle.com/oracle_scripts.htm

Lastly, make Oracle Tach support provide you with a workaround!


--------------------
Hope this helps. . .

Donald K. Burleson
Oracle Press author
Author of Oracle Tuning: The Definitive Reference
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd July 2014 - 10:51 PM