Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )


 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
Oracle 

Performance Tuning Reference poster
 
Oracle training in Linux 

commands
 
Oracle training Weblogic Book
 
Easy Oracle Jumpstart
 
Oracle training & performance tuning books
 
Burleson Consulting Remote DB Administration
 
 
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> to what extent we can grant quota on users tablespace
reem
post Oct 12 2017, 07:49 AM
Post #1


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 7-May 16
Member No.: 51,315



hi guys
i have very important question :
i create user and grant you by(sys administrator) connect role and create table privilige and not resource role so we have to grant it quota on users tablespace, so to what extent we can grant quota for user account???
in other words how size every body can have for his datafiles????
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
burleson
post Oct 12 2017, 10:42 AM
Post #2


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 13,577
Joined: 26-January 04
Member No.: 13



Hi Reem,

Oracle is a shared data repository, it is never segmented by user name!

It is a bad idea to use quotas, IMHO, because you never want a transaction to fail for a lack of space:

Please read:

http://www.dba-oracle.com/concepts/unlimited_tablespace.htm

Good luck!


--------------------
Hope this helps . . .

Donald K. Burleson
Oracle Press author
Author of Oracle Tuning: The Definitive Reference
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
reem
post Oct 14 2017, 09:42 AM
Post #3


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 7-May 16
Member No.: 51,315



QUOTE (burleson @ Oct 12 2017, 11:42 AM) *
Hi Reem,

Oracle is a shared data repository, it is never segmented by user name!

It is a bad idea to use quotas, IMHO, because you never want a transaction to fail for a lack of space:

Please read:

http://www.dba-oracle.com/concepts/unlimited_tablespace.htm

Good luck!


thanks very much
I agree your answer but I have been meaning ,what is the bigger size in complete database?? is it 4G in oracle 10g???
as you told me that It is a bad idea to use quotas but quotas idea is present so when should we use?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
burleson
post Oct 14 2017, 11:26 AM
Post #4


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 13,577
Joined: 26-January 04
Member No.: 13



Hi Reem,

I never use quotas in production.

Some folks use them in test, it limit developers!


--------------------
Hope this helps . . .

Donald K. Burleson
Oracle Press author
Author of Oracle Tuning: The Definitive Reference
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
reem
post Oct 15 2017, 05:44 AM
Post #5


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 7-May 16
Member No.: 51,315



QUOTE (burleson @ Oct 14 2017, 12:26 PM) *
Hi Reem,

I never use quotas in production.

Some folks use them in test, it limit developers!



ok thank you
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 03:47 PM